Tags

, , , , ,

I tripped over a new one today while taking the train home from work:

Someone on Tumblr linked to Bioware’s Explorer’s Wanted contest.

Bioware, for those unfamiliar with the company, is a video game developer owned by EA Games, which has produced titles like Mass Effect and Dragon Age, and I’m very fond of them. The “Explorer’s Wanted” contest is effectively an open call for fans of the Mass Effect franchise to audition to be a character in the game. On a lark, I decided to read one of the scripts and send in my submission for consideration.

Here it is.

I am my own worst critic, so what I hear now are all the things I could correct. But all things considered, I’m happy with this submission.

In hopes of not losing momentum, I then decided to do something very similar that I’d been intending to do for ages. I recorded myself reading a segment of a book, and am going to submit it to Pseudopod. Yes, I’m auditioning to be a narrator.

Click here to listen to my audition clip, where I read the prologue to Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett’s beloved Good Omens.

Yes, I know. Neither of these things have to do with writing.

It’s my road trip, remember?

